Interview: Sarah Meurle

Sarah Meurle
Greatness on a skateboard
Age: 26
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

What’s going on in your life right now?
I live in Gothenburg since a year and a half, I’m studying at a university there to get a bachelors degree in photography and fine art.

What do you do when you’re not skating?
A lot of the things that I’m studying, photography and art, that’s what I’m interested in. I spend a lot of time working with photographs in the darkroom, I do analog photography. I also like to spend time outside and ride my bike and I like to walk around in the woods, I really like the nature.

Can you tell us more about your photography?
I started to get interested in photography through skating when I was 13, I documented my friends with a little film camera, but there is a photo of me when I was just six years old where I’m holding a camera in my hands. And I was studying photography in high school as well. I would describe my photography style as experimental, I like it when coincidences plays a part in the photographs and when there’s something wrong with them and they’re not perfect.

You are nominated as best photographer at Svenska Skateboardgalan (the Swedish Skateboarding Awards), how do you feel about that?
I don’t really shoot a lot of skate photography, I was nominated last year as well. But this year I actually did an article for Giftorm, a swedish skateboard magazine. It’s really fun and nice that they think about me, but it should probably be someone that’s more into skate photography that wins. It’s interesting to look at skate photography now when I know more about photography. (After this interview took place, Sarah won the prize for Best Photographer at the gala.)    

When and how did you start skateboarding?
I was 13 and a lot of kids in my school were skating and that’s where I got the interest.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up on the countryside in Blentarp, a small village outside of Malmö.

What’s the best places in your hometown? What would you recommend?
In Gothenburg, which is my current hometown, I really like to go to Saltholmen, in the archipelago. I usually bike around but you can take the tram there. And you can ride the trams and ferries on the same ticket so sometimes I just go on a boat and read.

Your former hometown Malmö has become a popular destination for skaters from across the globe. Why is that would you think?
It’s been a big part of my skateboarding life, it’s had a big influence on me. It’s like a whole community and you always meet the same people there in the winter. Because in the summer everyone goes out and skates in the streets so you don’t really see each other, but in the winter you meet everyone again. They’re really good at building parks in Malmö.  

If you could re-live one moment in your life, which one would it be?
I recently went to New York, during the election. That was pretty crazy, the day after Trump won I was walking in the demonstration towards Trump Tower. That was a big moment.

What are your biggest fears? Are you afraid of something?
Snakes! But in everyday life I’m afraid of stress, I really don’t want to be stressed.  

How do you think people around you would describe you?
I really can’t answer that, that’s a question for someone else.

Tell us one thing most people don’t know about you?
Maybe that I’m really into music. I spend a lot of hours looking for music, and I like vinyls. I like soul, and old 70s and 80s music.

What was it about CHPO that made you want to be a part of the team?
CHPO stands for really good things and I want to support that. It’s as easy as that.

Apart from your own pro model, what piece is your favourite in the CHPO collection?
I really like the Khorshid Minis, I always wear them.

Taking a strong social stance for equality and human rights are fundamental parts of CHPO’s DNA. What social responsibility and/or charity is the most important to you?
I think that everything is important, but for me it is what I can do with who I am and show women and girls that they can do what they want. The feminist perspective.

What are your plans for the future?
Whenever I get that question I try to make up an answer but I’m not really into doing plans. Whatever happens happens.

Last but not least, which animal would you be, and why ?
I saw the movie The Lobster recently, which is pretty crazy. You have to choose an animal that you become when you die, and the main character in the movie chooses a lobster because it has some special abilities, so I’m going with that.

Illustration by: Iñaki Azpiazu

Share this post
This entry was posted by in News.